Show Jumping Hall of Fame Inducts Anthony D’Ambrosio and Linda Allen

Show Jumping Hall of Fame Inducts Anthony D’Ambrosio and Linda Allen

Ian Millar Honored with Hall’s Inaugural International Award at Induction Gala in Wellington

Award-winning rider, trainer, and course designer, Anthony D’Ambrosio, and internationally respected official and clinician, Linda Allen, were inducted into the Show Jumping Hall of Fame during the Hall of Fame’s Induction Gala in Wellington, Florida on March 5. The Hall of Fame also honored Canadian show jumping legend, Ian Millar, as recipient of the Hall’s inaugural International Award.

“This was our second year hosting our annual induction ceremony as part of a sit-down dinner in Wellington and once again it was an incredible night that most of us will never forget,” said Show Jumping Hall of Fame chairman Peter Doubleday. “Our sport’s history was on display with so many of our sport’s legends in attendance. It was truly a thrill and something we plan to build on each year.

“While induction into the Hall of Fame is for Americans who have had a significant impact on the sport, we wanted to recognize some of the great international riders who also impact show jumping in this country,” Doubleday added. “With that in mind, we initiated our new International Award and we felt that there was no more worthy candidate to be the initial recipient than ‘Captain Canada,’ Ian Millar.”

Millar is the most decorated equestrian in Canadian history. A two-time World Cup champion, he competed in 10 Olympic Games, more than any athlete in any sport. He was awarded the Order of Canada in 1986, Ontario’s Athlete of the Year in 1989, and an honorary doctorate by the University of Guelph in 2005. Together with longtime partner, Big Ben, he was inducted into the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame and the Jump Canada Hall of Fame. Millar was also inducted into the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame.

The induction dinner, held at the Wanderers Club in Wellington, also recognized 12 others in attendance who have previously been inducted into the Hall of Fame including Olympic veterans Mary Chapot, Norman Dello Joio, Margie Engle, Leslie Howard, Anne Kursinski, Beezie Madden, Michael Matz, and Melanie Smith Taylor as well as David Distler, Peter Doubleday, Steve Stephens and former Olympic rider and current U.S. chef d’equipe Robert Ridland. Others in attendance included Olympic veterans Will Simpson, Peter Leone, Nona Garson and Mac Cone and Grand Prix riders Carly Anthony, Heather Caristo-Williams, Natalie Dean, Lucas and Wilton Porter, and Mavis Spencer.

Read more:

Show Jumping Hall of Fame | Hunter and Jumper Classic Show Promotion